What mental disorders qualify for SSDI?

Sep 24, 2021 | Social Security Disability

Physical disabilities often qualify for Social Security benefits, and these are the types of disabilities that many people think of first when the topic arises. Examples may include a spinal cord injury that leaves someone paralyzed from the waist down or an amputation injury that means they simply cannot continue in their line of work. 

However, many mental disorders also qualify. These are often more difficult for outsiders to fully understand, as they may not be as obvious on a daily basis, but they can certainly influence every area of your life. It’s important to know if you have a condition that qualifies for benefits or not. 

The 11 categories of qualifying conditions 

Rather than listing all of the potential conditions, officials have arranged them into 11 different categories. If you have a condition that falls under one of those listed below, you may be able to seek benefits:

  1. Neurocognitive disorders
  2. Intellectual disorder
  3. Schizophrenia spectrum and other psychotic disorders
  4. Depressive, bipolar and related disorders
  5. Trauma- and stressor-related disorders
  6. Anxiety and obsessive-compulsive disorders
  7. Personality and impulse-control disorders
  8. Autism spectrum disorder
  9. Neurodevelopmental disorders
  10. Somatic symptom and related disorders
  11. Eating disorders

If you believe that you have one of these disorders, it’s important to note that you need to have an official diagnosis from a doctor. They can work with you to consider treatment options, and they can help you get the paperwork to confirm your diagnosis and strengthen a potential application for benefits. 

Once you do that, it is time to start looking into the legal options you have and the steps you will have to take.